Shop By Category
Search by Keyword
Obtaining Your New Jersey Marriage License
Welcome to BestWeddingNJ.com! If you are getting married in New Jersey, you will find the information below helpful to you in planning your Ultimate New Jersey wedding. Read it carefully for it is essential that you understand the regulations and that you follow them precisely. Click here to find your local New Jersey Resistrar.
Click here now to meet our wonderful, experienced NJ Wedding Officiants!
Where should you apply for a New Jersey marriage license?
If the bride is a resident of New Jersey, the New Jersey marriage license must be obtained from the Registrar of Vital Statistics in the municipality where she lives.
If the bride is a non-resident of New Jersey and the groom is a resident of New Jersey, the New Jersey marriage license must be obtained from the Registrar in the municipality in which the groom resides. (For marriage license purposes, soldiers are residents of the posts at which they are stationed.) A NJ marriage license issued under either of the preceeding circumstances is good for use anywhere in New Jersey.
If both bride and groom are non-residents of New Jersey, the New Jersey marriage license must be obtained from the Registrar of the municipality where the marriage is to be performed and is only good for use in that municipality.
A New Jersey marriage license may never be used outside of New Jersey and a marriage license issued in another state may never be used in New Jersey.
Be sure to contact the Registrar well in advance of the wedding to find out on what days and during what hours the Registrar will be in the office.
Who can perform a New Jersey Marriage Ceremony?
According to state law, judges of a Federal District Court, United States magistrates, judges of a Municipal Court, judges of the Superior Court, judges of a Tax Court, retired judges of the Superior Court or Tax Court, of judge of the Superior Court or Tax Court who has retired in good standing and any mayor/deputy mayor or chairman of any township committee, village president of New Jersey, County Clerks, and every minister of every religion may solemnize a marriage.
When should you apply for a New Jersey marriage license?
A local Registrar will not issue a New Jersey marriage license sooner than 72 hours after the application for a NJ marriage license has been made, unless ordered to do so via appropriate court order.
If the marriage is scheduled for a Saturday of Sunday, the application should be made no later than the preceeding Tuesday. If the application is made on a Wednesday or Thursday, the 72 hours will end on Saturday or Sunday, however the Registrar will probably not be available on those days of any public holiday.
If both the bride and groom are unavailable to complete the application at the same time, either applicant may complete his/her part of the application and start the waiting period. The other applicant must return with the same witness (who must be at least 18 years old) to complete his/her part of the application. The application must be completed by both parties before the New Jersey marriage license will be issued. Once the NJ marriage license is issued, it is good for 30 days from the date of issuance.
A couple wishing to have both religious and civil ceremonies may be issued a marriage license for both ceremonies on the basis of a single application. However, a couple wishing to have two religious ceremonies, and wanting to have a public record of each, may not have two marriage licenses issued at the same time. They must apply for and use the first license. They must return to the Registrar with the signed original certificate of the marriage and a witness to apply for a remarriage license.
What should you bring with you when you apply?
Photo Identification, Social Security cards, and Original Birth Certificates for you and your fiancée
A witness who is over 18 years of age.
If one or both of the applicants are divorced, you should bring a copy of the final decree or decrees for examination by the Registrar or a statement by the judge as to when the final decree was signed (not the date of the final hearing).
Consent of both parents is necessary if an applicant is under 18 years of age. Both parental consents and judicial approval of such consents are necessary if the applicant is younger than 16. The consents should be on forms supplied by the Registrar.
Where should the marriage record be filed?
The person performing a marriage ceremony must file the New Jersey license and marriage certificate with the Registrar of the municipality in which the marriage was performed. Since failure to record the marriage may cause considerable inconvenience at a later date when proof of marriage is needed, you should make sure this has been done.
NEW JERSEY MARRIAGE LICENSE APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS:
CLICK HERE To Find LOCAL REGISTRARS
1. Photo identification for both you and your fiance.
2. Original birth certificates for you and your fiance.
3. A witness who is over 18 years of age.
4. Application fee of $28.00, cash, check or money order
5. There is a 72 hour waiting period after the application has been made. Therefore, if your proposed NJ wedding date is September 14th, apply on or before September 10th, to allow for the waiting period and your
6. If either of the applicants is divorced, the divorce documents for the applicant in question must be brought in at the time of application.
7. Social Security cards.
8. The New Jersey Marriage License is valid for 30 days after you receive it. If for any reason you cannot use the New Jersey Marriage License within the 30-day period, you will have to reapply.
9. At the time of application, inquiries can be made regarding obtaining a certified copy of the NJ marriage license.
10. A New Jersey marriage license application may be obtained from your local municipal office or by going to www.state.nj.us/health/vital/marriage.htm. The NJ marriage license application is a two page document. Only
the first page of the application may be completed prior to your appointment. The second page is completed in the presence of the Registrar of Vital Statistics.
If you have additional questions regarding Vital Statistics matters, you may contact the State at the Office of New Jersey State Registrar (609) 292-4087.
IN YOUR COUNTY For Obtaining A Marriage License in New Jersey
Click here now to meet our wonderful NJ Wedding Officiants today!
Best Wedding NJ: We offer New Jersey Marriage License information, beautifully Customized NJ Wedding Ceremonies, Wedding Officiants, and Affordable NJ Wedding Services, Wedding Music, Wedding Photography & Wedding Video, Tuxedos, Wedding Cakes, Wedding Invitations, Wedding Flowers, Limousines, Ice Sculptures, Chocolate Fountains, Tent Rentals and so much more! FREE wedding planner, wedding vows & articles! If you are planning the Ultimate New Jersey Wedding of your dreams, you have come to the right place!
After you apply for your New Jersey marriage license, come visit BestWeddingNJ.com's Bridal Boutique! - America’s Wedding and Bridal Accessories Store! CLICK HERE for Our Wedding Store: Discover our Unique, Top Quality Wedding Products at Affordable Prices. We have everything you need in one place at Our Wedding Store. We offer hundreds of quality wedding items to make your wedding a great success! When it comes to wedding products, we have the ultimate selection!
Note: All prices in US Dollars
Get Wedding Tips to Make Your Day Special! Sign Up for your FREE Newsletter now!
Best Wedding NJ Testimonial ~
“Words cannot describe how grateful we are for that beautful ceremony, for the beautiful gifts, and for your joyful presence at our wedding celebration. God Bless you!”
-Victoria & Joseph Romano
Click here for many more Testimonials!